I read something in a Facebook group recently that made me think. I just want to share it with you.
A foreigner living here in the Philippines said he felt integrated. His proof? He’d only had one major argument with a Filipino so far. What happened was, he was standing in line at the grocery store, and someone cut in front of everyone. Nobody said anything. Except him. He got loud, and there was a confrontation.
That got me thinking.
In his country, what he did was probably right. There, when something unfair happens, you’re supposed to speak up. Stand up for yourself. That’s how they were raised.
But here, it’s different, right?
We all know how important it is not to embarrass someone in public. The harmony. The pakikisama. Even if someone did something wrong — you still think about their feelings. That’s how people deal with each other here.
The foreigner’s intention probably wasn’t bad. But in that moment, it became clear that even though he lives here — he hasn’t really settled into the culture. Not in his heart.
I’m a foreigner too. My Tagalog, honestly, is still very limited. I wouldn’t say I’m integrated — far from it. But I’m trying to learn. Not just the language, but the way you talk to each other, interact with each other. I’m trying to understand why things are the way they are here — and not judge just because it’s different from what I’m used to.
Maybe that’s a small step. But it’s still a step.